Themes Mark all newsUncheck all news

How to find us?


Address: 150 Metcalfe Street, Suite 1600, Ottawa, Ontario, K2P 1P1, CANADA

more »

Tel. +1 613 567 54 58
Fax +1 613 567 53 15

Lithuania commenced its term on the UN Security Council

Created: 2014.01.02 / Updated: 2014.09.12 19:35

On 1 January 2014, Lithuania commenced a two year term on the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

“Our seat on the Security Council gives us not only a unique opportunity to directly participate in global policy processes, but also opens up possibilities to aim to achieve more respect for human rights, democracy and the principle of equality of all countries in international relations. This is especially true for Lithuania and other small countries, which seek to protect their rights and interests in a global world and in their close neighbourhood,” the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania Linas Linkevičius said.

The consolidation of the rule of law, conflict prevention, the protection of civilians, especially women and children in armed conflict, and respect for the norms of international humanitarian law will be in the centre of Lithuania’s attention during its term on the Security Council. Lithuania will also aim to actively contribute to combating sexual violence as a weapon of war and will address cyber security and natural resource-related security and conflict challenges.

On 1 January, Lithuania takes over the Presidency of the Council’s Counter Terrorism Committee and its relevant Working Group, and will chair the newly established Sanctions Committee concerning the Central African Republic.

“During its term on the Security Council, Lithuania will pay special attention to the strengthening of the role of small countries in addressing global security issues and will seek to increase the Council’s transparency and efficiency,” the Lithuanian Foreign Minister underlined.

An additional challenge awaits Lithuania in February 2014, as the country will hold the rotating Presidency of the UN Security Council for one month. The country will hold the Presidency twice.

The UN Security Council consists of five permanent and 10 non-permanent members. In 2014, the Security Council will have these members: Argentina, Australia, Chad, Chile, China, France, Jordan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Nigeria, Russia, Rwanda, South Korea, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Subscribe to our newsletters